top of page
  • Writer's pictureTrevor Edwards

Indie Art Studies - (09/03/20)

I like to post a lot of my art to Twitter, and often I see lots of other artist's work in my feed that inspires me. One individual I take inspiration from with my colors and designs goes by the name Tentakustar, and they create small comic panels they update about every month or so. Characters like Betty and Rookie are very inspired and the stories they make are very heartfelt and relatable. Their visual style is very unique, seeming to draw influence from late-90s alt-art and graffiti, notably the stylings seen in the game PaRappa the Rapper. Their palettes tend to be pastels and neon hues, and their lines are very loose but feel of emotion and movement.




Another artist I looked to for inspiration was Kelly Ficarra, whose art is much in the same vein as Tentaku's--using loose, rough lines to evoke a a very specific style reminiscent of older UPA cartoons, similar to Genndy's work. Along with their own comics, they also created a traditionally-animated AMV set to a song that resonated with me in how its limited movement was so effective at conveying weight, as well as how their visual style lent itself to that type of motion so well. This animation looks like something straight from the 70s with the way the quality and mediums were handled. I aspire for my work to be this evocative.




bottom of page