top of page
  • Writer's pictureTrevor Edwards

Moodboard - (09/06/20)



After doing research, I compiled some images and designs that stood out to me and conveyed the energy I want out of this comic project. The story takes place in the year 1999, just before the imminent disaster of Y2K, with everyone afraid of what's coming. Some are enjoying life to the fullest, while others are bitter at the hand they've been dealt. I want to include lots of design motifs that look straight out of these times, like commercials and products evocative of the trends present in the late 90s.


The main character of the story, Cody Greyson, is a socially-challenged 20-something who likes to think he's capable of doing something great, but is lacking that push, letting society and the fears of Y2K make him think all is lost. The moment he receives contact from the digital world of Cybernelle is when his life is changed, and he finds himself facing a threat he doesn't fully understand. I look to Dib from Invader Zim quite a bit for how his demeanor should be, especially with how his jacket flows and his glasses shine, making for a cool and mysterious visage.


As noted in the moodboard, I want there to be a contrast between the visuals of Cybernelle and the city, Cybernelle being full of strange and zany visuals and wacky natives called "Anomalies", while Cody's home in Seiko City is more grounded in reality. I also want this disconnect to be present in the interactions between Cody's "Anomaly" MacLaine and Cody himself, MacLaine being bubbly, curious, and expressive, while Cody is focused, yet erratic and a bit bossy to a degree. Constructing this moodboard has helped me to truly pin down what I want to achieve in terms of visuals and tone in this motion comic project.

bottom of page